Do you think that someone has restricted you on their profile? And you don’t have any idea how you can confirm whether he/she has restricted you or not?. Well here is the complete information about what is restriction, what happens after restriction, and how to know if someone has restricted you on Instagram.
What is Restriction on Instagram
Restriction is the new type of blocking mechanism on Instagram that is being introduced last year. Earlier, there was only a block option available on Instagram. Using restrictions any user can restrict the other user to appear on their profile, posts, comments, and likes. Or say restriction just hides any user from their profile. No actions will be seen publicly, made by the restricted user on the account whom he/she had restricted.
This means restriction blocks a person from appearing on someone’s profile without getting informed or hinted at. The feature is specially introduced to reduce cyberbullying and harassment on Instagram without hinting one who is doing that. Here is what happens with the user after someone restricted him/her on their profile.
What happens if someone restricted me on Instagram
Nothing, except your appearance on their profile. The restriction will not affect you ‘directly’ if someone has restricted you on their Instagram profile. Instead, you will no longer be visible on any posts, posted by the user publicly. You can comment, like, to them as usual but that will not be visible publicly to other users on their profile.
The restriction will valid until they won’t unrestrict you. While you are restricted, the message you will send to them will be sent as a request and then that will be their wish whether they want to accept it or block it.
Any interaction such as comments, likes on the user’s post will not be publicly visible to other users once someone restricted you on Instagram.
How to Know Someone Restricted You or Not
You will need a second Instagram account to check whether someone has restricted you on their profile or not, or you can borrow your friend’s account.
Once you have a secondary account, visit the user profile whom you are thinking had restricted you. And check whether you are visible on their post likes and comments or not. If you are visible then he/she had not restricted you or if you are not visible then you are being restricted by the user.
Method 1: Check Likes & Comments
- Go to the user profile, you are suspecting has restricted you (do this from a second account or from your friend’s account).
- Now open, any of their post that you have liked or commented on.
- And check whether your like or comment is showing there or not. If not showing means you are restricted, if showing means not restricted.
Method 2: DM the User
Message the user, and if they won’t reply, means you are being restricted and your message is sent to them without any notification in the request section.
What to Do if a User Had Restricted You on Their Instagram Profile
You should have to know why the person had restricted you from their profile, and what mistake you had made that felt the person bully from you and your behavior online. If you find guilt then consider working on them.
Once you feel good, you can request to un-restrict you by messaging them. Note, that the user who has restricted you from their profile will find your message as a request and that’s their wish whether they want to continue interaction with you or not. If they won’t reply, it means they still don’t find you apologised and won’t want to interact with you anymore.
Read More – How to Un-Restrict on Instagram